Colfax County issues first burn bans

Colfax County Fire Marshal Larry Osborn announced yesterday (Jan.4) a ban on open burning in the Farley, Miami, French Tract, Vermejo Park, and District 8 (Raton) Fire Districts. Ban rules include:

  • No outside smoking except within a 3-foot diameter barren area;
  • No exterior fireplaces, stoves, chimeneas, or charcoal briquette barbeques (except for gas-propane stoves and barbeques);
  • No open flames of any kind;
  • No chainsaws except those with spark arrestors.