Who filed for the March 2018 municipal elections?

Cimarron Mayor Leo Martinez and Eagle Nest Municipal Judge Ronald L. Holder are the only candidates to face no opposition in the upcoming March 6, 2018, regular municipal elections.

Write-in candidates may still file with their municipal clerk Friday, Jan 16, 2018, between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m.). Candidates’ affidavits of voter registration must show a street address or rural route number not a post office box.

Who filed?

In Angel Fire three candidates will vie for two 4-year positions: incumbents Rogers Lanon and Chuck Howe, and newcomer Jo Mixon. For the single 2-year-term council seat, John Hail and Dafydd Pritchard will compete against William Humbert who was appointed Nov. 7, 2017 to replace resigning member Brinn Colenda.

Cimarron incumbent Mayor Leo Martinez runs unopposed while incumbents Laura Gonzales and Matthew Elias Gonzales face two opponents each: Condon Ray McFall and Lukas Scott Snart are aiming for Laura Gonzales’ 2-year-term council seat and Matthew Gonzales faces challengers Eunice Birmley and Judy B. LeDoux for a 4-year-term position.

Fox Guinn aims to unseat incumbent Eagle Nest Mayor Richard A. Cordova while incumbents  Billy R. Lowery and Robert Aaron Becton will face David C. Bolsinger and Julie A. Kulhan for two council seats. Incumbent Municipal Judge Ronald L. Holder is running unopposed.

Questa incumbent Mayor Mark L. Gallegos is challenged by John Anthony Ortega, while incumbent councilor Lawrence A Ortega will face Louise T. Gallegos and Charlie I. Gonzales.

Courtney Henderson hopes to unseat Red River Mayor Linda Calhoun who is seeking a 4th Term, while Jeff Brown is challenging incumbent Steve Cherry.

Register to vote

According to the New Mexico Secretary of State’s website, potential voters must be registered at least 28 days prior to an election, in this case by 5 p.m.Tuesday, Feb. 6, 2018. Residents may register to vote either with the New Mexico Certificate of Registration form or the National Voter Registration Form available online here.  This form may be downloaded or duplicated by any voter or organization.

The New Mexico Certificate of Registration Form (“New Mexico Form”) is available at any county clerk’s office, the Office of the Secretary of State, or many state agencies that serve specific clients at those offices such as motor vehicle offices and offices offering public assistance. A voter may request the New Mexico form by mail, telephone or in person. The New Mexico form is on cardstock, is a permanent record and is not available online. It may not be duplicated. 

For more information on the registration process in New Mexico, visit here.

Election Timeline:

Jan. 11, 5:01 p.m. — Drawing for Ballot Position (municipal offices)

Jan. 16, 5 p.m. — Deadline for candidates to withdraw their candidacies

Jan. 16, 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. — Write-In Candidate filing day

Jan. 13 — Municipal clerk certifies write-in candidates

Jan. 26 — Deadline for Write-In Candidates to withdraw their candidacies

Jan. 30 – March 2 — Deadline for absentee voting with the county clerk (municipal clerks will accept completed absentee ballots delivered by mail or in person until 7 p.m. on March 6, 2018.

Feb. 6, 5 p.m. — County Clerk closes voter registration

Feb. 14 – March 2 — Early voting

Election Day, Tuesday, March 6 — Polls are open 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.